Posted by: Liz | July 28, 2008

Planes, trains, ferries and…

…a 1986 Mazda Bongo van! Yes, that’s right, we bought our own transportation yesterday. We scowered the strets of Christchurch for the perfect vehicle (backpacker car marts, mechanic shops, hostel boards, etc.).

Finally, we found our diamond in the rough (and when I say rough, i mean it). We purchased “The Bongo” from our hostel owner, Anthony, who buys vans and cars from “soccer moms,” aka non-backpackers. He then soups them up for backpackers like Matt and I (stove, snow chains, curtains to hide our belongs, etc.).

We’ll be in Queenstown by this evening, traveling the mountainous south island road, manually shifting gears with our left hand, in our own set of wheels.

I promise we’ll post a pic of our van – The Bongo – soon…until then, check out a duplicate image:

1986 Mazda Bongo

1986 Mazda Bongo

Responses

  1. OMG!!! I LOVE IT!

  2. I had an ’86 Mazda van in Atlanta as a beater vehicle – slightly different style…but it just ran and ran…had to add about a qt of oil every two weeks, so keep an eye on it….small world….
    Chief…lookin’ at the pic of you along the beach carry flip flops….looks like you crawled out of the ocean….if I caught you, I think I’d throw you back! Just woofin’ on ya’. I need to find some of that beer locally – the newspaper lunch looks good! Keep up the pics and updates.

    Hugs to you both,
    Dad

  3. That’s awesome!

  4. I am insanely jealous of your sweet new ride.

  5. Wow….I can’t wait to see a photo of the real thing!! Just an FYI for uncle Matt in three days you’ll be having a niece or a nephew….we’ll keep ya posted!

  6. If we come to visit, can we cook on the stove in the back of your awesome bongo???? Keep us posted with more pics. We’re loving the blog!

  7. promise me you’ll put a wreath with a red bow on the front at Christmastime. promise??

  8. u gunna pimp that ride? x to tha z would put so many speakers in that thing…

    how does it do for gas? liters to the gallon, right?

    brodahl, did you take your shirt off and do the haka? Get that one some video and send it my way please.

    Go All Blacks. sweet as, mate

  9. I have faith that Bongo won’t die like Granny did. Granny, btw, was my 87 Honda Integra that CHARLES killed! Don’t let him drive Bongo.

  10. So far Bongo has been running like a champ…Matt is an AMAZING driver…I have yet to get behind the wheel.

    We’re off to ski The Remarkables but will post pics later this afternoon 🙂

  11. I can’t wait to ride in Bongo! Keep ‘er runnin’ until at least February.

  12. I wish I could roll around in the Bongo!


Leave a Reply

Categories

