Posted by: Liz | November 2, 2008

Remembering a loved one

There is not a day that goes by during my Overseas Experience (OE) in New Zealand that I don’t think of friends and family back home. I continually reminisce about fond memories from Indianapolis and visits with family in Michigan, Colorado and Fort Wayne.

This morning Matt and I were both fortunate enough to Skype with several members of our respective families. These “Wi-Fi moments” are so important to us, especially as we await the exciting birth of Mark & Melissa’s baby girl, Mel & PJ’s big wedding day, and most importantly as I was able to speak with my grandma one last time this morning.

I’ll never forget the November evening, exactly one year ago, that I broke the news to my Grandma about my OE trip to New Zealand. She was the first family member to hear my adventurous plans – we talked for hours – and she was quite supportive and encouraging. After receiving her nod of approval I spread the news to other family members and the rest is history.

I don’t know how many people can say that they consider their grandparent to be a best friend, but I’m one of the lucky ones. During my two and a half years in Indy, we used to spend countless nights hanging out. My favorite memories are all the times we hollered at the TV while watching IU & Purdue basketball, I definitely got my competitive spirit from her. She also taught me to knit, write letters (the old fashion way), cook and appreciate the finer things in life, all of which are the essence of my OE in New Zealand.

Thank you, Grandma for being a best friend. You were the glue of our family and were always incredibly supportive of our adventurous dreams. You will be missed.

Responses

  1. Thinking of you…

  2. I’m glad you’re doing well over there – I know it’s hard being away from family during a time like this.

    We miss you.

    Mel

  3. Liz, You are with us all day celebrating Grandma’s life. Love ya

  4. Hi!!! I saw your mom last night and she gave me this web address. What a beautiful adventure you are having! I am sorry that you couldn’t be there last night, but I know your Grandma is so proud of you for follwing your heart. She was such a beautiful lady! I hope you continue to have amazing adventures and I hope to see you when you get home!


Leave a Reply

Categories

