Posted by: Liz | April 16, 2009

Sunsrise

I’m hooked! To the sunrise, that is. For the past few weeks, especially since New Zealand “fell back” for daylight savings time, I have been rising with the sun.

My routine is to snatch my camera, head down to the beach before it pops above the horizon and begin snapping away! I also find myself humming my favorite John Butler Trio song…”Sunrise over sea, no longer, my cup half empty…” Ahhh, pure bliss!

Here are some pics of the sunrises on the East Cape, the most easterly part of New Zealand and therefore the first area of the world to see the sun rise.

Sunrise outside of camp site

Sunrise outside of camp site

sunrise at Hicks Bay, just west of East Cape lighthouse

sunrise at Hicks Bay, just west of East Cape lighthouse

There are heaps more photos to share and I promise we’ll organize them all on our flickr account soon. For all you sail boat & water lovers, yesterday Matt and I  sailed on 36 foot yacht all around the Bay of Islands in Northland and landed upon the same sacred land  Captain Cook discovered back in the late 1700’s. Today we’re off to catch a glimpse of the giant Kauri rainforest trees, which are currently under careful care and are approaching the world’s endangered list.

Responses

  1. aarrrhhh….more sailboat adventures….good job lassy!

  2. Give NZ a huge hug for us. What a beautiful country to have spent your OE. We think you did it proud! Looking for a big hug ourselves. And, Go Thetas! Careful travel. Love yas!


Leave a Reply

Categories

